October 26, 2021

Literature Journal

World literature news

SI Leeds Literary Prize

The SI Leeds Literary Prize is a biennial award founded in 2012 by Soroptimist International of Leeds (SI Leeds)[1] – a branch of the worldwide women’s organization Soroptimist International – for unpublished fiction written by Black and Asian women resident in the UK.[2][3] Submissions must be of more than 30,000 words of fiction and entrants must be aged 18 years and over.[4] The prize offers support for writers to develop their work and to help build new audiences.[5]

Described as “groundbreaking”,[6] the prize has been developed and managed by SI Leeds in partnership with Ilkley Literature Festival[7] and Leeds-based publishers Peepal Tree Press. Among other partners are The Literary Consultancy (TLC),[8] Writing on the Wall (WOW),[9] the Arvon Foundation, New Writing North,[10] and Leeds Library and Information Service.[11]

As of 2014, patrons of the prize[12] include Bernardine Evaristo, Bidisha, Bonnie Greer, Carolyn Choa, Diana Evans, Diana Howse,[13] Dreda Say Mitchell, Hannah Pool, Margaret Oldroyd (president of Soroptimist International Great Britain and Ireland),[14] Maya Jaggi,[15] Pippa Small,[16] Sue Woodford-Hollick and Yasmin Alibhai-Brown, with Margaret Busby as prize ambassador[17] and Irenosen Okojie as prize advocate

Read more